The 4 Things You Need to Do Before Deleting an App

The 4 Things You Need to Do Before Deleting an App

You were probably excited when your friend told you about the new app they just downloaded. It seemed like a great idea, but now that the newest craze has passed, you’re not using that app anymore. It’s time to delete it. But hang on! Before Deleting an App, there are four things you need to do.

Deleting an App isn’t as Simple as it Sounds 

Removing an app from your phone is not as simple as you might think. You can’t just delete it the way you would, say, an email message. The app has to be uninstalled, and uninstalling apps is something of a specialty unto itself.

If you’re like most people, your phone came with a bunch of apps already on there: a web browser and a music player and an app to take pictures and send text messages and things like that. The advantage of the new approach is that it allows users to remove apps they don’t use without having to hack their phones or void their warranties or anything like that. The downside is that it allows users to remove apps they do use, in which case all their data in that app is lost. This may come as a surprise to people for whom losing data is generally something best avoided.

Review Your Choice

Most of us don’t stop to think about our choices after we make them. We tend to let emotions guide us directly into anything that makes us feel good or accepted at the moment. If I’m jealous of someone who has an expensive car, I might buy one myself without thinking about whether I can afford it. If I see a rapper with a big house and lots of jewelry, I might take out a loan to buy those things for myself without stopping to think about my long-term ability to pay it off.

Understand Why You Made That Choice

 After making your choice, take some time to understand why you made that choice in the first place. Did you choose this app because someone else was using it? Or did you choose it because it would really benefit your life? Make sure you know why you made the choices you made so that you can adjust them if necessary.

Why deleting apps can be tricky? 

Deleting apps can sometimes do more harm than good. If you are not careful, you can lose all the information stored on them. Some of the information users want to delete may not be stored in the app itself, but could be inside the phone or even on remote servers. Android users, for example, have an option to back up all their apps’ data using Google’s cloud service Drive before they uninstall them.

The right way to remove an app completely 

When you delete an app from your iPhone, it is not deleted; it is just hidden. If you connect the phone to your computer and open iTunes, the iPhone icon appears in the upper-right corner of the screen. A message says, “This device is currently associated with a profile that doesn’t permit editing.” But if you click on the icon, you can see what’s there; one of the tabs at the top of the window shows all the apps installed on your phone.

And if you delete one of those apps—by pressing the Delete key—it returns to its place on your phone, fully operational. The only way to be sure that it is gone for good is to sync your phone again. You don’t need to sync it all that often anyway; maybe once a month. But if you ever want to be sure that something is gone for good, sync before deleting it.

Leave a Reply