The 5 Best Scrum Master Certifications of 2021

Best Scrum Master Certifications of 2021

Scrum master certifications are great, but they can sometimes be a bit expensive. It’s also difficult to determine which certification path is best for you. The goal of this post is to identify the best scrum master certifications to help save your money and time when selecting a certification path. This article is for the IT Professionals who want to be Scrum Master. This post will help you in learning about some of the best Scrum Master Certifications.

The 5 Best Scrum Master Certifications of 2021

Scrum Alliance

Scrum alliance Founded in 2001 by the creators of Scrum, Jeff Sutherland, and Ken Schwaber, Scrum Alliance was the first organization to present the Scrum Certification Program. This is the Certified Scrum Master (CSM) designation. We have chosen the CSM offered by Scrum Alliance as the best overall scrum certification because it is one of the most widely recognized certification programs for Scrum masters.

Scrum Alliance is the best scrum certification because it is the most commonly used CSM certification program for a scrum master. Scrum Alliance concentrates its certification training on intercommunications with certified instructors and teachers, followed by a structured exam. CSM training program is necessary to get a certification exam for Every CSM graduate of the Scrum Alliance.

Scrum Alliance gives both face-to-face and online virtual training courses around the world. Starting fee for online courses is $795 which includes 2 days of training,8 hours each day. Discounts available for personal training programs that are two to three days long and usually start at $1,300, with groups. The cost of the exam fee is collected within course fees, which can be taken at the end of each course.

CSM certification expires after every two years so every member has to renew their CSM certification to claim their certification. The renewal payment is $100. Scrum Alliance claims 20 Scrum Education Units (SEUs) for CSM recertification

Scrum partner Ken Schwaber left the Scrum Alliance in 2009 and created to provide training that he believes is more consistent with the Scrum fundamentals. In the method, he built an alternative to the Certified Scrum Master, called the Professional Scrum Master(PSM). We’ve chosen it as our runner-up because it offers the second most recognized Scrum certification in the Scrum Alliance.

The main difference between Scrum Alliance and is how each one gets certified. Even Though the Scrum Alliance has confirmed that individuals have completed Scrum training before taking the Certification Exam, is focused on the exam itself. Is developed instead. presents three levels of PSM certification: 

  • PSM I
  • PSM II
  • PSM III 

The PSM I Certification Scrum focuses on “How to apply Scrum to Scrum teams and have permanent terms and access to Scrum”. The PSM II Certification ” based on the good understanding of the basic principles of Scrum and can apply Scrum to complex real-world situations.” The PSM III Certification “based on a deep understanding of the application and application of scrum and scrum values in a variety of complex teams and organizational situations.” It doesn’t require any recertification if it’s PSM training. Pricing For PSM 1,PSM 2,PSM 3 is following 


  • $150 per person
  • 60-minute length


  • $250 per person
  • 90-minute length


  • $500 per person
  • 120-minute length

Scrum Inc.

Scrum Inc was started in 2006 by Jeff Sutherland, co-founder of the scrum and Scrum Alliance, to get back to teaching CSM also gives leadership workshops and other enterprise coaching and consulting services. We have chosen it as the best interactive class because it focuses on training certification with dynamic and interactive, hands-on exercises.

There are no requirements for licensed Scrum Master training and the experience of Scrum at all levels is welcome. Course fees start at $1,995, including exam fees, and are online for three hours a day. Those Students who complete the course and pass the exam will receive their licensed Scrum master Certificates signed by Jeff Sutherland.

Project Management Institute 

Project Management Institute (PMI) has become a valuable leader in certifying project management professionals founded in 1996 and serves more than 2.9 million professionals worldwide. We select it as the best for the Agile Scrum Certificate because it offers eight certifications, including a book that specifically enhances the reputation of Scrum Masters.

PMI provides:

An Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP) certification and also providing Scrum  Master certification Which includes Kanban, extreme programming (XP), Lean, and test-driven development (TDD), and Agile certification.PMI-ACP certification is popular among Scrum masters and employers because it covers all agile and Scrum methods and principles The PMI-ACP certification exam consists of 120 MCQs and gives three hours to complete it. The exam can be done online.

Pricing for PMI-ACP

  • $435 for PMI members
  • $495 for non-members.
  • $129 per year for membership.

PMI-ACP certification expires after every three years so every member has to renew their PMI-ACP certification to claim their certification.

Renewal Cost: $60 for PMI members, $150 for non-members.

Scaled Agile

It was created to give scaled agile framework certification founded in 2011, A framework aimed to scale agile, lean, and scrum practices for businesses. We selected Scale Agile for SafeScrum Master Certification as it is the gold standard for SAFE training and has even developed a framework.

Courses are available onsite or online and start at $799,  including the cost of the exam. An exam can retake, each attempt contained costing an additional $50. SAFe Scrum Master Certification Holders must renew their certification and complete at least 10 ongoing academic hours each year.

Renewal cost: Recertification costs $100.


Leave a Reply